CMP Distributing $178,000 In Scholarships For 2022-23 School Year

Students with exceptional accomplishments in marksmanship and academics will receive 2022-23 scholarships

posted on June 2, 2022
Cmp2022scholarships 1
From left: 2022-2023 CMP scholarship recipients Phoebe Chandler (Parker, S.D.), Samuel Sparrow (Hendersonville, Tenn.) and Annie Downum (Springdale, Ariz.).

The Civilian Marksmanship Program has announced this year’s top scholarship recipients and will award a total of $178,000 for the 2022-2023 school year.

The selected athletes received $3,000, along with the $5,000 Carolyn Hines Memorial Scholarship awarded to the top overall applicant.

The 2022-2023 Dr. Carolyn Hines Memorial Scholarship winner is Johnathan Dorsten of Bryan, Ohio, who is a graduate of Bryan High School. With a GPA of 3.95 and 30 on the ACT, he made the honor roll all four years and is a National Honor Society member. For the last 12 years he has been a regular at air pistol competitions at all levels. Outside of shooting, he has been involved in 4-H, soccer and tennis. He has also been active through service to his community and has kept busy with a local engineering internship. Dorsten is set to attend Ohio State University, studying agricultural engineering and entering as a member of the school’s pistol team.

Below are the $3,000 CMP scholarship recipients.

  • Phoebe Chandler, Parker, South Dakota
  • Annie Downum, Springdale, Arizona
  • Sarah Folsom, Granbury, Texas
  • Victoria James, Woodine, Maryland
  • Isaac Joback, Fenton, Missouri
  • Alexis Kunze, Oak Harbor, Washington
  • Abbie Leverett, Bainbridge, Georgia
  • Chandler Livingston, Chula, Georgia
  • Molly Palko, Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Emma Rhode, Kempton, Pennsylvania
  • Benjamin Rogers, Gardner, Kansas
  • Bryce Roop, Decatur, Indiana
  • Samuel Sparrow, Hendersonville, Tennessee
  • Maria Tortorelli, APO, AE (Germany)
  • Hannah Vaagen, Devils Lake, North Dakota
  • Elysa Walter, Sugar Hill, Georgia

Learn more about the 2022-2023 scholarship winners at the CMP website.


1 2003 Jr Air Gun Classic Ssusa
1 2003 Jr Air Gun Classic Ssusa

Classic SSUSA: 2003 NRA Junior Air Gun Championship

In 2003, some of the nation’s most accomplished young shooters assembled in Wilmington, N.C., for the NRA Junior Air Gun Championship.

Entry Restrictions Lifted: 1919 National Matches

In 1919, NRA worked to broaden the appeal of the National Matches, including civilian participation, program diversity, and school and college attendance, expanding the competition beyond its military origins.

New: Walther PDP Match Polymer

Walther Arms has released a new polymer-framed PDP Match full-size pistol chambered in 9 mm with 18-round capacity.

Fiocchi Adds Rachel Barringer To Pro Shooting Team

Fiocchi welcomes top skeet competitor Rachel Barringer to its Pro Shooting Team.

USA Shooting: Athletes Earn Seven Medals At 2023 Parapan American Games

Five U.S. athletes—YanXiao Gong, Marco De La Rosa, Mike Tagliapietra, Stetson Bardfield and Kevin Nguyen—secured seven medals at the 2023 Parapan American Games in Santiago, Chile, Nov. 17-21.

WATCH: NRA Instructor Empowers More Than 4,500 Women—Exposes Biden, Harris and Newsom’s Gun Control Hypocrisy

NRA releases new video with NRA firearms instructor Robin Evans of Chicks With Triggers that highlights the empowerment of women through self-defense training.


Get the best of Shooting Sports USA delivered to your inbox.