CMP Awards $250,000 In Scholarships For 2023-2024 School Year

For the 2023-2024 school year, the Civilian Marksmanship Program has awarded a total of 114 scholarships to competitive shooters deemed “scholar marksman.”

posted on May 24, 2023
2023 CMP Scholarship 1
Suman Sanghera of Great Falls, Va., was among the top applicants were chosen by the CMP Scholarship Committee this year, receiving a $20,000 scholarship

The Civilian Marksmanship Program has presented 114 scholarships to outstanding junior marksmen through the CMP Scholarship Program for the 2023-2024 school year.

Along with a $30,000 contribution from the Garand Collectors Association, CMP awarded $220,000 in scholarships to remarkable young individuals from around the country, as well as four repeat $5,000 scholarships, the latter totaling $20,000 over the course of four years for each recipient.

The top applicants were chosen by the CMP Scholarship Committee.

Listed below are those earning the top four $20,000 scholarships.

  • Charles Bratton (Clover, S.C.)
  • Emma Lawrence (Shelbyville, Ky.)
  • Suman Sanghera (Great Falls, Va.)
  • Allison Zane (Pittsburgh, Pa.)

In total, CMP awarded 58 one-time $1,000 scholarships to students nationwide, along with 12 more to students local to Ohio and Alabama. Additionally, $3,000 scholarships went to the next top 20 students and $5,000 scholarships to the preceding 20 excelling students.

Receiving the $5,000 scholarships were:

  • Ella Allen (Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Emily Buck (Alabaster, Ala.)
  • Elijah Butler (Austin, Texas)
  • Katrina Demerle (Ross, Ohio)
  • Nathan Engman (Albertville, Minn.)
  • Dylan Gregory (Naperville, Ill.)
  • Madelyn Lee (Dawsonville, Ga.)
  • Maggie Mizelle (Sylacauga, Ala.)
  • Leah Mueller (Iola, Kan.)
  • Casia Steinhaus (Devils Lake, N.D.)
  • Ariana Sun (Honolulu, Hawaii)
  • Ryan Wee (Wake Forest, N.C.)
  • Isabella Baldwin (Nashville, Tenn.)
  • Reese Burnett (Pierre Part, La.)
  • Bremen Butler (Fort Wayne, Ind.)
  • Esther Moore (Bentonville, Ak.)
  • Julia Oubre (Acworth, Ga.)
  • Leo Veatch (Agate, Colo.)
  • Vincent Xu (Andover, Mass.)
  • Samantha Zermeno (Fort Mill, S.C.)

To review all the selected applicants, go to the CMP Scholarship Program page.


Bardfield 2023Parapan 1
Bardfield 2023Parapan 1

USA Shooting: Stetson Bardfield Defends Parapan American Games Championship Title

Team USA’s Stetson Bardfield won the R5 Mixed Air Rifle Prone SH2 event gold medal at the 2023 Parapan American Games in Santiago, Chile, Nov. 20, breaking his own record in the process.

Collegiate Rifle: Akron’s Record-Breaking Trip To Alaska

Akron rifle lands two big team scores and new individual air rifle record—twice—at a three-way match on the road against Kentucky and Alaska-Fairbanks in Alaska, Nov. 18-19.

Is Accuracy The Same As Precision?

Accuracy and precision refer to two different methods of measurement, each appropriate to their applications.

Competitors’ Corner: December 2023

Highlights from the December 2023 issue of Shooting Sports USA, the NRA’s competitive shooting journal.

Beard Tops Inaugural Smallbore Event At 2023 Dixie Double

1st Lt. Sarah Beard won the first-ever Smallbore Rifle match at the CMP’s annual Dixie Double competition in Alabama.

Results: 2023 USPSA Open, Pistol-Caliber Carbine National Championship

The 2023 USPSA Open and PCC Division National Championship was held at the CMP Talladega Marksmanship Park, Sept. 6-10.


Get the best of Shooting Sports USA delivered to your inbox.