USA Shooting: 2023 Shotgun Junior Olympic Champions Named

USA Shooting’s 2023 National Junior Olympic Championships conclude at Hillsdale College, skeet and trap champions crowned.

at USA Shooting posted on July 3, 2023
Usa Shooting July Jr 2023 1
Above (left to right): Abbey Wigh, second place in Women’s Trap, Lucy Meyers, the 2023 National Junior Olympic Women’s Trap Champion, and Ava Down, third place in Women’s Trap.
USA Shooting

The 2023 USA Shooting National Junior Olympic Championships season has come to an end after the skeet and trap victors have been named.

Jordan Sapp and Gracie Hensley are the Men’s and Women’s Skeet Junior Olympic Champions, while Joshua Corbin and Lucy Myers captured the Men’s and Women’s Trap Junior Olympic Championship titles.

The competition took place at Hillsdale College in Hillsdale, Michigan, at the university’s Halter Shooting Sports Center from June 9-18. 

The skeet portion of the championships took place the first weekend, with many promising junior athletes in attendance.

Sapp, who just won two medals at the International Shooting Sports Federation Junior World Cup in Shul, earned first overall by edging out Miles Simons, who placed second, and Joshua Grganto in third place.

Hensley earned her gold medal after defeating Emersyn Berck, who finished second overall, and Madalynn Schroder in third place.

The following medals were also awarded for skeet competitors.

Women’s 18 and Under

  • Gold: Haidyn Stewart

Men’s 18 and Under

  • Gold: Shelby Smith
  • Silver: Aidin Burns
  • Bronze: Sam Stewart

Women’s 15 and Under

  • Gold: Chloe Chaleunsinh
  • Silver: Hannah Eichel

Men’s 15 and Under

  • Gold: Hunter Engholm

Collegiate Men

  • Gold: Joshua Corbin 
  • Silver: Johnathon Savage 
  • Bronze: Kyle Fleck 

Trap athletes battled it out for their titles the following weekend at the Hater Shooting Center.

Corbin, who shoots for the Hillsdale College team, won gold overall after barely edging out Mitchell Warner, who finished second, and Ethan Beeman in third place.

Myers won her overall first place title after beating Abbey Wigh, who placed second, and Ava Downs, who placed third. 

The following medals were also awarded for trap competitors.

Women’s 18 and Under

  • Gold: Heidi Griner
  • Silver: Molly Elliott 
  • Bronze: Michaela Velasquez

Men’s 18 and Under

  • Gold: Mason Myers
  • Silver: Caleb Cutler
  • Bronze: Jackson Schroder

Women’s 15 and Under

  • Gold: Lexi Henning
  • Silver: Ester Cui
  • Bronze: Allison Fisher

Men’s 15 and Under

  • Gold: Adam Zoelle 
  • Silver: Gavin Wulf
  • Bronze: Felix Bai

Collegiate Women

  • Gold: Sophia Bultema 
  • Silver: Katie Welker 
  • Bronze: Shelby Sivadon

Collegiate Men

  • Gold: Matthew Kutz
  • Silver: Zach Rippeto
  • Bronze: Corbin Cooper


  • Gold: Rocco Bara
  • Silver: Ben Cui
  • Bronze: Leni Wulf

This competition also determined the 2023 Junior Olympic Squad. The following athletes made the squad. 


  • Gracie Hensley 
  • Haidyn Stewart
  • Miles Simons
  • Josh Grganto


  • Heidi Griner
  • Abbey Wigh
  • Joshua Corbin 
  • Zach Rippeto

Learn more at about USA Shooting at


1936 Nationals 2
1936 Nationals 2

NRA Pistol Competitions Experience Tremendous Growth: 1936 National Matches

At the NRA National Matches in 1936, nearly 7,000 competitors made the trek to Camp Perry to participate, which was the biggest turnout at the competition to date.

Register Now For The 2024 Burris Optics Team Challenge

Registration is open now for the 2024 Burris Optics Team Challenge to be held in Douglas, Wyo., Jun. 20-23.

New: Magpul DAKA LR53 Hard Case

Magpul’s largest DAKA hard case is the new LR53, which at 57 inches long offers a mind-boggling 64 liters of internal volume, as well as the innovative DAKA grid organizer system.

New: Umarex Komplete Nitrogen Cartridge Rifle

Umarex’s new Komplete Nitrogen Cartridge Rifle breaks new ground as the world’s first air gun powered by a pre-filled high pressure nitrogen cartridge.

Desirae Edmunds: From Anchorage To Savannah

Powerhouse sporting clays competitor Desirae Edmunds is the only woman to win the NSCA Championship Tour Ladies title a whopping six consecutive times.

Bob Barr Elected NRA President, Doug Hamlin Elected As New Executive Vice President & CEO

NRA Board elects Bob Barr as new president and longtime NRA Publications Executive Director Doug Hamlin as EVP and CEO.


Get the best of Shooting Sports USA delivered to your inbox.